Head to head · Checked against vendor sites, September 2026
Onyx Security vs Glow Security: AI agent security compared
The verdict
Onyx Security scores higher overall on our weights (7.4 vs 6.7 out of 10). Onyx Security scores higher on tool-call control, policy, footprint, identity and audit, maturity and breadth; Glow Security scores higher on visibility. Neither publishes list prices.
How do Onyx Security and Glow Security compare on each criterion?
| Criterion | Weight | Onyx Security | Glow Security | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Visibility | 22% | 7 | 8 | Glow Security |
Why these scoresOnyx Security: Discovers AI agents across SaaS, cloud, endpoint and code; endpoint inventory detail is lighter than endpoint-first tools. Glow Security: Positions itself as control over everything that runs on the endpoint, with Asset Intelligence and shadow AI discovery; its Anthropic integration collects per-user Claude usage, custom skills and installed connectors. | ||||
| Tool-call control | 20% | 8 | 7 | Onyx Security |
Why these scoresOnyx Security: Inspects every prompt, tool call and model response inline. Glow Security: Glow describes a pre-execution hook that can block an action or hold it for approval, and runtime prevention policies for coding agents; per-call mechanics are not documented on pages we could read. | ||||
| Policy | 15% | 8 | 7 | Onyx Security |
Why these scoresOnyx Security: Five enforcement actions: alert, block, mask, steer, or ask a human. Glow Security: Adaptable policies with autonomous remediation and prevention agents, and a Claude Code managed-settings bundle through its Anthropic integration. | ||||
| Identity and audit | 12% | 7 | 6 | Onyx Security |
Why these scoresOnyx Security: Agent identity and access governance is a named solution. Glow Security: Per-user Claude usage and a compliance audit trail through the Anthropic integration, which needs Claude Enterprise and the Compliance API; attribution for other agents is not described. | ||||
| Footprint | 13% | 6 | 5 | Onyx Security |
Why these scoresOnyx Security: Works across endpoint agents, browser extensions, APIs and gateways; the endpoint component is a resident agent or extension. Glow Security: How Glow reaches devices is not stated on its homepage, and its documentation site could not be read. | ||||
| Breadth | 8% | 9 | 6 | Onyx Security |
Why these scoresOnyx Security: Browser AI, coding assistants, desktop agents, cloud workloads and MCP servers, plus agentic red teaming. Glow Security: Covers software control and asset intelligence beyond AI tools, plus enterprise AI accounts and settings through the Anthropic integration; cloud workloads are not described. | ||||
| Maturity | 10% | 7 | 6 | Onyx Security |
Why these scoresOnyx Security: $113M Series B announced 29 July 2026; SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 listed; pricing not published. Glow Security: Came out of stealth on 22 July 2026 with $180M at a $1.2B valuation, led by Sequoia, Cyberstarts, Greenoaks and Redpoint; named customer quotes and a trust center on glow.io; no pricing. | ||||
| Total | 100% | 7.4 | 6.7 | Onyx Security |
How do they deploy, and what do they cost?
| Attribute | Onyx Security | Glow Security |
|---|---|---|
| Owner | Not acquired | Not acquired |
| How it reaches devices | Endpoint agent, browser extension, API, gateway | Not published |
| Deployment detail | Onyx says it needs no SDK changes and works across endpoint agents, browser extensions, APIs and gateways. It integrates with Okta, Entra, Splunk and CrowdStrike. On devices this means a resident component, which is why it scores lower on footprint than tools that deploy through EDR or MDM. | How Glow reaches devices is not stated on its homepage, and its documentation site could not be read. |
| Pricing | Contact sales. Onyx Security does not publish pricing. | Contact sales. Glow Security does not publish pricing. |
Source: onyx.security · Onyx AI security · Onyx Series B · glow.io · Glow Anthropic integration · Glow research: developer screenshots exposed by AI agents (29 Sep 2026) · Glow emerges from stealth (22 Jul 2026) · Reviewed Sep 2026
Which should you choose?
Choose Onyx Security if
- Your priority matches our designation for Onyx Security: best for inline control across many AI surfaces.
- Your agents also run in SaaS platforms, cloud workloads or apps you build: Onyx Security scores 9 to 6.
- You need to evaluate or stop individual tool calls before they run: Onyx Security scores 8 to 7.
Choose Glow Security if
- Your priority matches our designation for Glow Security: best for software control across the endpoint.
- You need a fleet-wide inventory of AI agents, MCP servers, extensions and credentials on devices: Glow Security scores 8 to 7.
Frequently asked questions
Which is better, Onyx Security or Glow Security?
Onyx Security scores higher overall on our weights (7.4 vs 6.7 out of 10). Onyx Security scores higher on tool-call control, policy, footprint, identity and audit, maturity and breadth; Glow Security scores higher on visibility. Scores are editorial assessments from public vendor material, reviewed September 2026.
Do Onyx Security and Glow Security publish prices?
No. Neither publishes list prices, so ask both for a quote.
Do Onyx Security or Glow Security replace EDR?
No. The tools in this guide add control over AI agent actions and work alongside EDR. Onyx Security: Endpoint agent, browser extension, API, gateway. Glow Security: Not published.
Related
Sources
- onyx.security · Reviewed Sep 2026
- Onyx AI security · Reviewed Sep 2026
- Onyx Series B · Reviewed Sep 2026
- glow.io · Reviewed Sep 2026
- Glow Anthropic integration · Reviewed Sep 2026
- Glow research: developer screenshots exposed by AI agents (29 Sep 2026) · Reviewed Sep 2026
- Glow emerges from stealth (22 Jul 2026) · Reviewed Sep 2026